AT LAST, SIR TERRY, WE MUST WALK TOGETHER

Terry-Pratchett-1
Sir Terry Pratchett 1948-2015

Katie Collis, Brompton Library, writes: Here at Brompton Library we thought it would be fitting to celebrate the life of Sir Terry Pratchett, whose books were loved by millions of people all over the world.

I asked the staff at Brompton which books they particularly liked and, not surprisingly, I had very different responses.

Christian: “As a kid I loved comedy shows on TV, everything from Fry and Laurie to Red Dwarf and The Detectives but when it came to reading, I was only interested in dark horror books by Stephen King and James Herbert or science fiction comics. Terry Pratchett changed all of that for me.

When a friend introduced me to the Discworld novels I became addicted to the series, as it seemed to capture the kind of Monty Python humour that I loved, but in a fantasy novel setting. I really connected with the sarcasm and humour of the characters, especially Rincewind the Wizard and Death who seemed to possess very human qualities despite such a fantastical setting. Terry Pratchett should rightly be remembered as a national treasure, whose quintessentially British wit and incredible imagination will be enjoyed by young and older readers for a very long time to come. RIP Sir.”

Elisabeth: “There is nobody quite like Terry Pratchett. His books could be sly and tongue-in-cheek, but always witty and warm too. The first book I read was ‘Guards! Guards!’ after which I wanted to read more about this fantastic world he had created. There were so many enjoyable characters: Captain Vimes and Constable Carrot – and not forgetting the Librarian!”

Librarian, Terry Pratchett Discworld series
The Librarian, illustration by Paul Kidby

Katie: “At school, I watched lots of children devouring Pratchett’s books but it wasn’t until my early twenties that I randomly picked up ‘Good Omens’ (which he co-wrote with Neil Gaiman) and instantly loved the world and characters they both created. I really enjoyed the TV productions of ‘The Colour of Magic’ and other Discworld programmes which led me onto reading his books. I really admired his unflinching and unsentimental approach to his illness and his contributions to developing treatments for Alzheimer’s and dementia. In this he has left a legacy and a legion of books that will be loved again and again.”

Terry Pratchett display Brompton Library
Terry Pratchett book display at Brompton Library
2 thoughts on “AT LAST, SIR TERRY, WE MUST WALK TOGETHER

  1. I picked up my first Terry Pratchett when I was 12 – the Josh Kirby covers were fabulous and looked really exciting to me, like nothing else in the library. Pyramids was my first Pratchett, but I will always have a soft spot the The Watch series, with Sam Vimes its reluctant hero. I can think of no other author who I’ve read continuously from my childhood right into my advanced adult years! Very, very sad news.

    Like

Leave a Reply

