A stock librarian recommends

Elin Jones, one of our TriBorough Stock Librarians was approached by the publishing house, Spear’s to name her favourite book of the decade. Over to Elin to tell us which title she chose and why….

The Black House by Peter May
The Black House by Peter May

I recommend The Blackhouse by Peter May as it is a gripping murder mystery and an easy read.

It is a very well-written story, and a true page-turner. I’ve always enjoyed a good thriller with a twist to the tale and this book certainly met my expectations.  The author sets the scene in Stornoway and paints a very vivid picture of life on the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides. This book could easily be made into a film.

Peter May
Peter May

As a librarian, it was a book I recommended when facilitating a reading group for business people in Hammersmith held in a local pub. I read the book very quickly sharing chapters between the comfort of my London home and the First Great Western train journeys to South Wales when visiting my mother.

Once I’d finished The Blackhouse I wished for more as is the case with all good books –  my wish has been granted as this book thankfully now forms part of a trilogy called The Lewis Man Trilogy. I also now have the urge to go and visit the Outer Hebrides!

If you’re interested to see what other titles were recommended check out Spear’s ‘Best books of the decade’.

Elin Jones
Elin Jones

Elin Jones

TriBorough Stock Librarian

Leave a Reply

