The Brompton Blog – October 2012

Greetings and salutations!

Brompton Library
Brompton Library

Welcome to the second post of the Brompton Library Blog, in which we share positive feedback and our first-hand experiences of running the library service.

As anyone who has visited the area between Earls Court and Gloucester Road will know, the locality in which we are situated is full of schools, colleges and universities, many of which receive enrolment from all over the world. Now that most of these have officially started their first term we can expect a busy period in which new students will be eager to obtain a Tri-Borough library card in addition to their respective institutional membership. It is easy to see why joining their local public library is popular with many of these students: instant access to a fantastic selection of over one million books in addition to a range of electronic databases, computers to scan and print documents, a wireless network available almost everyday completely free of charge to anyone with a portable computer, study areas with reference materials, microfilm and photocopiers and, most importantly, the dedicated and helpful staff who will join up each individual and help them to utilise the great facilities available across the Tri-Borough area. In a single day I joined students from 3 different continents (Australia, Europe and South America) who were all very impressed with the free resources that we provide to assist them while they live and learn in our great city.     

Christian Stevens
Christian Stevens

                  
Christian Stevens – Senior Customer Services Assistant

 

The more things change the more they stay the same!

Elizabeth BrownI have recently moved back to Brompton after some years at Chelsea Library. Brompton Library has completely changed since I was last working here. After the refurbishment the library is now totally different. I have only been back a few weeks but I’ve lost count of the number of times that someone has said to me, 

’I remember you; I haven’t seen you for ages!’

So even though we have new borrowers joining all the time, we still have borrowers who have been using the library for many years. There are also users who visit all the libraries so I meet people who say ‘Oh, you’re at this library now!’

What makes me feel old is when a borrower I remember as a child now still uses the library as an adult!
Elisabeth Brown – SCSA Brompton Library

 

Nour Festival of Arts 2012:

I was invited to the launch of the Nour Festival at the V&A, having attended the inaugural meeting to discuss how libraries could be involved. What a fantastic evening! The museum was closed so the launch had the foyer to itself, the atmosphere was buzzing with well over a hundred people, Arab musicians playing in the background, delicious, delicate nibbles and my glass of wine being refilled every time I stood still! There were inspirational speeches from participants, especially the singer Reem Kelani, and I would urge you to have a look at the programme and find at least one event to go to – I did and I wasn’t disappointed.

Stephanie Webb

Stephanie Webb – Librarian

 

Funny stuff:

Our lovely Library Assistant Marta Janacsek has compiled a list of things that made her laugh:

  • I lost my library card and want to cancel it, but I am not giving you my name because I want to protect my privacy.
  • I am looking for a book, I saw it this morning on TV -I don’t know the title or the author, but the cover is yellow.

Tune in next month for a list of strange items left in our library!

2 thoughts on “The Brompton Blog – October 2012

  1. The first thing I did when we moved to SW5 was to get my card. Books, newspapers wifi, speakers, movies and the great staff…what a tremendous area resource!

    Like

Leave a Reply

